Roy Hertel, Chairman Montgomery County Board

#1 Courthouse Square, Room 202 Hillsboro, Illinois 62049 Phone # (217) 532-9577



Board Members:

<u>District #1</u> Connie Beck Megan Beeler

Mike Webb

District #2
Joe Gasparich
Chuck Graden
Gene Miles

District #3

Bonnie Branum Heather Hampton+Knodle Jay Martin

District #4

Jim Moore Mike Plunkett Earlene Robinson

District #5

Sharon Kuchar Glenn Savage Richard Wendel

District #6

Ron Deabenderfer Roy Hertel Dave Ronen

District #7

Mary Bathurst Nikki Bishop Bob Sneed November 13, 2013

Illinois Pollution Control Board 1021 North Grand Avenue East P.O. Box 19274 Springfield, IL 62794-9274



STATE OF ILLINOIS Pollution Control Board

To Whom It May Concern;

The Montgomery County Board discussed and approved a motion at the November 12, 2013 board meeting, to support the request of Dynegy Energy to receive the same variance given to Ameren to retro-fit their power plants with pollution control scrubbers in Coffeen, Newton, Edwards, Duck Creek and Joppa. The Coffeen Power Station is located in Montgomery County and if for any reason this station would be closed, it would have a drastic economic impact on the County for the following reasons.

- Employs 162 staff.
- Approximately 45% of the employees reside in Montgomery County.
- The estimated total economic activity for the State of Illinois from the Coffeen Energy Center was approximately \$534.9 million for the Illinois economy in 2013.
- The Coffeen Energy Center's operations supported an annual average of 2,481 jobs for Illinois residents, including 162 direct jobs and approximately 2,320 jobs added through multiplier effects.
- Estimated total economic activity for the multi-county region (including the Counties of Montgomery, Macoupin, Bond, Fayette, and Sangamon) was approximately \$388.5 million for the market area in 2013.
- The Coffeen Energy Center's operations supported an annual average of 1,513 jobs for residents of the multi-county region listed above, including 113 direct jobs and approximately 1,400 jobs through multiplier effects.
- The Coffeen Power Station pays Montgomery County taxing districts approximately \$3.6 million in real estate taxes with about \$2.6 million supporting the Hillsboro School District.

Roy Hertel, Chairman Montgomery County Board

#1 Courthouse Square, Room 202 Hillsboro, Illinois 62049 Phone # (217) 532-9577

Board Members:

District #1

Connie Beck Megan Beeler Mike Webb

District #2

Joe Gasparich Chuck Graden Gene Miles

District #3

Bonnie Branum Heather Hampton+Knodle Jay Martin

District #4

Jim Moore Mike Plunkett Earlene Robinson

District #5

Sharon Kuchar Glenn Savage Richard Wendel

District #6

Ron Deabenderfer Roy Hertel Dave Ronen

District #7

Mary Bathurst Nikki Bishop Bob Sneed As you can see these plants all have a large impact on the County where they are located and the surrounding areas.

We appreciate your consideration of this matter in granting the variance to Dynegy. If you have any questions, please contact the Chairman's office at 217-532-9577 or email royhmontgomeryco.com.

Sincerely,

Roy Hertel, Chairman

Montgomery County Board

Cc: Illinois Pollution Control Board, Chicago Office Representative Wayne Rosenthal – 98th District State Senator Andy Manar – 48th District Governor Pat Quinn

Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation Jeff Coyle, Coffeen Power Plant Manager